The Vasectomy Procedure

For Women
Vasectomy Information Source for Wives and Partners
Vasectomy vs. Tubal Ligation vs. EssureĀ®
Questions and Answers

How long does a No-Scalpel Vasectomy take?

Usually about 10 minutes by Dr. Benderev.

The Steps of our No-Needle, No-Scalpel Vasectomy

  1. You will disrobe and lie on the exam table.
  2. The scrotum will be washed and draped to guard against infection.
  3. A local anesthetic is applied with the "No-Needle technique". The needle can be avoided with this technique by using a special jet sprayer for the anesthetic.
  4. After the local anesthetic is administered, a tiny opening is made in the scrotum.
  5. Either the right or left vas deferens is lifted through this opening. The vas is cut. You may feel a mild pulling sensation during this process. The end of the vas is cauterized (heat sealed), before being returned to the scrotum (open-ended technique).

  1. The opposite vas deferens is then lifted through the opening for the same procedure. The remaining opening can heal with closure by stitches or naturally without stitches.



Check out Theodore Benderev, MD on Yelp

Home | No-Needle, No-Scalpel Vasectomy | Anatomy & Terms | Risks & Complications | Alternatives | What to Expect | Vasectomy Procedure | Vasectomy Reversal | Dr. Benderev | Request an Appointment | Contact Us

Site content copyright © 1999-2022 Theodore V. Benderev, M.D. All Rights Reserved. 1-888-VASECTOMY (888-827-3286)

The content of this site is provided for information only and not for medical advice.  This site makes no claims as to the accuracy of its information and is not a substitute for direct consultation with your health care professional.

Dr. Ted Benderev is a well known urologist since 1990 who has performed more than 10,000 vasectomy and vasectomy reversal procedures. His practice is conveniently located in the Orange County communities including Aliso Viejo, Anaheim, Costa Mesa, Corona, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Huntington Beach, Irvine, Ladera Ranch, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Mission Viejo, Newport Beach, Orange, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Juan Capistrano, Santa Ana, San Clemente, Tustin, Westminster, and adjacent Inland Empire counties of Riverside and San Bernardino, San Diego and Los Angeles.